Sometimes, mistakes in the original text (e.g., typos by the transcribers of a historical document) are only noticed during annotation. In these cases, CorA allows you to make edits to the tokens themselves. Three edit operations are available: editing (modifying), adding, and deleting a token. They can all be accessed by clicking on in the respective row in the editor.
All edit operations currently cannot be undone and should therefore be used with caution!
Editing (modifying) a token
To edit an existing token, choose “Edit token…” from the dropdown menu () in the editor. Alternatively, simply double-click on the token itself.
A dialog window will pop up and prompt you to modify the token, then confirm your changes. The new token is then processed by a server-side script, and the editor view is updated to reflect the changes. Existing annotations will be retained if possible.
Note that you can only edit a single token at a time! In particular, you should not include spaces etc. in the new token string to indicate token boundaries. If you want to split up an existing token — say, “foobar” — into two separate tokens “foo” and “bar”, the correct way is to add a new token “foo”, then change the existing token “foobar” to “bar”.
It is possible that the server-side script rejects the changes; e.g., it could validate the string that you entered according to some internal criteria. This is completely up to your local administrators who set up the project and the token editing script, and you should refer to them for any questions/problems regarding this.
Adding a new token
To add a new token, choose “Add token…” from the dropdown menu () in the editor.
A dialog window will pop up and prompt you to enter the new token; this works the same way as editing an existing token. The new token will be added before the token where you selected the “Add token…” option, but the dialog window will also inform you about this.
Deleting a token
To delete a token, choose “Delete token” from the dropdown menu () in the editor.
You will be prompted for confirmation before the token is actually deleted. Be aware that deleting a token loses information permanently and currently cannot be undone automatically. (Of course, you could always re-insert the token manually via the “Add token” functionality.)